Delinquent Behavior Among Boys ‘Contagious,’ Study Finds

I often tell parents that they should help their kids choose their friends carefully. Here’s an article that supports my perspective.

Impulsive boys with inadequate supervision, poor families and deviant friends are more likely to commit criminal acts that land them in juvenile court, according to a new study published in the Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry. The most surprising finding from the 20-year study, conducted by researchers from the Université de Montréal and University of Genoa, was how help provided by the juvenile justice system substantially increased the risk of the boys engaging in criminal activities during early adulthood.

You can read the entire article here.

While the research mainly focuses on children who affected others during association in detention, its implications extend far beyond that–even to simple circles of friends.

8 Responses to “Delinquent Behavior Among Boys ‘Contagious,’ Study Finds”


  1. 1 Choosing Between Costa Blanca And Algarve Villas July 13, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription

    link or newsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know in order that I

    could subscribe. Thanks.

  2. 2 Spain property April 24, 2013 at 3:52 am

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run into any

    internet browser compatibility problems? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not working correctly

    in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any advice to help fix this problem?

  3. 3 giveitawaybycynthia.blogspot.fi April 20, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This

    type of clever work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

  4. 4 Ernie April 20, 2013 at 4:47 am

    Wonderful paintings! This is the kind of information that are supposed
    to be shared around the internet. Shame on
    Google for now not positioning this put up upper! Come on

    over and seek advice from my site . Thank you

    =)

  5. 5 free ads classifieds El Puerto de Santa Maria December 6, 2012 at 9:04 am

    Great blog! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some

    more. I am bookmarking your feeds also.

  6. 6 Tracey October 31, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    I drop a leave a response when I appreciate a article
    on a website or if I have something to add to the
    conversation. It’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the post I browsed. And after this article Delinquent Behavior Among Boys ‘Contagious,’ Study Finds « Steven Rudolph’s Blog on Learning.

    I was actually excited enough to leave a leave a responsea response :-P I do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or do some of these comments appear like
    left by brain dead folks? :-P And, if you are posting on other sites, I would like to keep up with you.
    Could you list the complete urls of all your public pages like your linkedin profile,
    Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • 7 stevejiva October 31, 2012 at 1:36 pm

      Hi Tracey. Nice to hear from you. You can keep up with me through this site, my fb page (stevejiva), and multiplenatures.com. I don’t tweet much and am not really active on linked in. Email: asksteve@jiva.com

  7. 8 Randolph September 22, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours nowadays, but I never discovered any fascinating article like yours. It is pretty value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you probably did, the internet might be much more helpful than ever before.


Leave a Reply

Take the Multiple Natures Test

Confused about your ideal career? Take the Multiple Natures Test to discover the amazing careers that match your unique nature. Click here to take the test online.

Become my Fan on Facebook

Steven Rudolph on Facebook

My Tweets

  • I'm on Headlines Today 4:30pm (New Age Parenting). Discussing confused students & parents, and navigating the broken education system. 1 day ago
  • Don't expect each day to be a great day. Plan on huge problems. This way, you'll be ready for anything--and delighted when things go well. 4 days ago
  • Reading Steven Pressfield's #TheWarOfArt. How to conquer the enemy within--our own internal resistance to what we must do. 6 days ago

Flickr Photos

DSC_0245

DSC_0226

DSC_0199

More Photos

Jiva Public School

Our centre for educational innovation, Jiva Public School is where we cook up new and exciting ideas for learning.

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

